
University Heights advanced to the 2nd Region championship match with a 2-1 victory over Madisonville-North Hopkins Wednesday night in Henderson.
The game-winning goal came with 22 minutes to play when Cal Givens scored on a penalty kick after Madisonville was called for a hand-ball in the box.
See the foul and the penalty kick in this Max’s Moment.
<iframe class='wpb_videoplayer video-single-player-iframe' allowfullscreen scrolling='no' width='600' height='330' frameborder='0' src='https://www.yoursportsedge.com/wp-content/plugins/wpb-video/wpb-video-embed/wpb-video-embed.php?blogid=1537&id=707859&flag_call=singleVideo&playerid=eH8Osi4&player_slug=university-heights&chkFlagFrom=meta_insert_video'></iframe>






3 Responses
the foul was out of the box so no pen but its a double foul, an illegal attempt to bypass the back pass rule (the player cannot get on the ground and attempt to use his head to play the ball to his keep to pick up) which would have been indirect from spot of keeper where he picked up ball and the obvious hand ball. I advocated for the hand ball on the field to the ref who was not gonna call anything till I protested, and I never advocated for a pen, it was just an add on, but there was a moment earlier in the game that was a clear pen for us that was not called so I guess its karma. Either way Madisonville fought hard to the end and they should be proud of their performance. Also I'm mad y'all did not include the moment of me picking my little brother up after the goal. It's fine though.
So can you show us the rule where a player on the ground can not head the ball to their keeper? They can not kick it with their foot up in the air then head it to their keeper that is circumventing the backpass. Thus you would be admitting you were wrong. As a keepers parent ive never seen a pk given for a headed backpass whether on the ground or not. My son plays D2 and my daughter plays D1. Im genuinely curious about which law this falls under and which official ruled it without knowing the exact law.
Great question Greg.
The law says a player absolutely can head the ball to the keeper while on the ground as long as an attacking player isn’t in the proximity. Happens all the time. But since the attacking player was in the area, it would be considered a dangerous play (don’t want anybody getting kicked in the head) and an illegal back pass to the keeper and an indirect free kick would be awarded to the attacking team from the spot the goalie picked up the ball. But since he missed with his head and illegally handled the ball and prevented an obvious goal scoring opportunity it should have been a direct kick from the spot of the handball and a straight red card for #6.